DENVER, Colo. - The American Water Works Association (AWWA) announced the five recipients of its 5 Under 35 – Outstanding Young Professional Award today. The award, which debuted in 2021, recognizes and honors AWWA members under the age of 35 who have demonstrated outstanding service to their Sections or the Association through leadership and active participation in young professional (YP) programs.

The 2023 award winners are:

Jenny Doyle, Missouri Section

  • Senior Civil Engineer, PE, City of Glendale, Arizona
  • Member, AWWA Member Engagement and Development Committee
  • Trustee, Missouri Section; Chair, Section Member Engagement Committee
  • Past chair, Section Young Professionals Committee; member, Section Water for People, Water Equation and Competition committees
  • B.S. and M.S., Civil Engineering, University of Arkansas

Clayton Freed, Arizona Section

  • Program Manager, City of Phoenix Water Services
  • Member, Water Utility Council
  • Past chair, Section Conference and YP committees
  • Member, Section Education Council
  • B.S., Environmental Engineering, New Mexico Tech

Nicole Holloway, Southwest Section

  • Laboratory Supervisor, Beaver Water District, Lowell, Arkansas
  • Co-Chair, AWWA Manual Committee, M12, Simplified Procedures for Water Examination
  • Co-Chair, Water Quality Laboratory Committee
  • Member, AWWA Aesthetic Quality & Perception
  • Past Chair, Section YP Committee, Past Co-Chair, Section Conference Local Host
  • Board Member, SW Section AWWA
  • B.S., Chemistry, Missouri State University; M.S., Environmental Science, University of Idaho

Lawrence Latour, P.E., Virginia Section

  • Water Resources Engineer, Town of Herndon, Virginia
  • Member, Young Professional Committee 2017-2023
  • Past Vice-Chair, Young Professional Committee
  • Member, Water Landmarks Award Committee
  • Past Summit Chair, YP Summit Conference 2021 and 2020
  • Past Summit Vice-Chair, YP Summit Conference 2019
  • Past Summit Program Chair, YP Summit Conference 2018
  • Past Chair, Chesapeake Section YP Committee
  • B.S., Environmental Engineering, University of Delaware

Susan Mukai, PE, Hawaii Section

  • Senior Principal Engineer, PE, Brown and Caldwell, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Secretary, Hawaii Section
  • Past Co-Chair, Section Workshops Committee
  • Past Trustee, Section Annual Conference
  • Past Chair, Section Newsletter Committee
  • Past Chair, Section YP Committee
  • B.S. and M.S., Civil Engineering, University of Southern California

The award recognizes young AWWA members who actively pursue their advancement in the water sector through engagement in student and young professional events and activities and by representing students’ and young professionals’ interests throughout AWWA.